Iowa Legislature Approves New Congressional and Legislative Maps

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Yesterday evening, the Iowa Legislature completed redistricting by voting to approve the second set of maps prepared by the nonpartisan Legislative Services Agency (LSA). In Iowa, the LSA is responsible for drafting new maps, although the Legislature can reject proposals — which it did on Oct. 5, rejecting the LSA’s first proposal. The approved plans now await the signature of Gov. Kim Reynolds (R), who is expected to sign them into law.

The second set of congressional districts is more favorable to Republicans than the first proposal, which would have created two Republican districts, one Democratic district and one highly competitive district that President Joe Biden narrowly won in 2020. Instead, the approved plan aligns more closely to the state’s current congressional plan with one Republican district and three competitive ones. Notably, Rep. Cindy Axne (D) and Rep. Marionette Miller-Meeks (R) will reside in the same district and may end up running against each other in 2022.

Find the approved maps here.