Nebraska Approves New Congressional and State Legislative Maps

WASHINGTON, D.C. — On Sept. 30, Gov. Pete Ricketts (R) signed Nebraska’s new congressional and state legislative districts into law, moments after the state’s unicameral Legislature approved the maps. This makes Nebraska the third state to complete congressional redistricting after Oregon and Maine. In Nebraska, the state Legislature is responsible for drawing both state and congressional districts, subject to gubernatorial veto.

Earlier this month, a Republican-proposed congressional plan to split Omaha’s Democratic-leaning Douglas County failed to overcome a filibuster. Ultimately, the Legislature advanced a compromise plan that keeps Douglas County intact, but adds in more rural counties to increase Republican influence in the district. Nebraska is one of two states that splits its electoral college votes; in the 2020 election, Douglas County’s former district awarded President Joe Biden one of Nebraska’s five electoral votes.

Find the approved maps here.