STATE OF MINNESOTA

COUNTY OF ANOKA

DISTRICT COURT

TENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Minnesota Voters Alliance; Mary Amlaw; Ken Wendling; Tim Kirk,

Petitioners,

v.

Tom Hunt, in his official capacity as elections official for Anoka County; Steve Simon, in his official capacity as Secretary of State; Anoka County; the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State; Shannon Reimann, in her official capacity as chief executive officer of the Minnesota Correctional Facility – Lino Lakes,

Respondents,

and

Jennifer Schroeder, an individual; and Elizer Eugene Darris, an individual,

Intervenor-Respondents.

Case Type: Other Civil

District Court File No.: 02-CV-23-3416 Hon. Thomas R. Lehmann

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO COURT OF APPEALS

Date of Judgment: December 15, 2023

Date of Appealable Order: December 13, 2023

TO: Clerk of the Appellate Courts
305 Minnesota Judicial Center
25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the above-named Petitioners appeal to the Court of Appeals of the State of Minnesota from (1) the Judgment of the Anoka County District Court dismissing with prejudice their petition for writ of quo warranto and (2) the Order of the same court granting Intervenor-Respondents' motion to intervene as of right. The Judgment was entered on December 15, 2023, and Order was entered on December 13, 2023.

Anoka County Respondents' Counsel:

Anoka County Attorney's Office Jason Stover (#030573X) Robert Yount (#0397752) 2100 3rd Avenue Anoka, MN 55303 Phone: (763) 324-5550

jason.stover@anokacountymn.gov robert.yount@anokacountymn.gov

Appellants' Counsel:

Upper Midwest Law Center Douglas P. Seaton (#127759) James V. F. Dickey (#393613) 8421 Wayzata Blvd., Suite 300 Golden Valley, Minnesota 55426 Phone: (612) 428-7000 doug.seaton@umlc.org james.dickey@umlc.org

State Respondents' Counsel:

Minnesota Attorney General's Office Nathan Hartshorn (MN #0320602) Allen Barr (MN #0399094) (651) 757-1252 (Voice) (651) 297-1235 (Fax) nathan.hartshorn@ag.state.mn.us allen.barr@ag.state.mn.us

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 St. Paul, MN 55101

Intervenor-Respondents' Counsel:

-and-

FAEGRE DRINKER BIDDLE & REATH LLP

Craig S. Coleman (MN #0325491) Jeffrey P. Justman (MN #0390413) Evelyn Snyder (MN #0397134) Erica Abshez Moran (MN #0400606) 2200 Wells Fargo Center 90 South Seventh Street Minneapolis, MN 55402 Phone: (612) 766-7000 craig.coleman@faegredrinker.com jeff.justman@faegredrinker.com evie.snyder@faegredrinker.com erica.moran@faegredrinker.com

Ehren M. Fournier (MN #0403248) Cassidy J. Ingram (pro hac vice) 320 South Canal Street, Suite 3300 Chicago, IL 60606 Phone: (312) 569-1000 ehren.fournier@faegredrinker.com Cassidy.ingram@faegredrinker.com

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF MINNESOTA

Teresa J. Nelson (MN #0269736) David P. McKinney (MN #0392361) 2828 University Avenue SE, Suite 160 Minneapolis, MN 55414 Phone: (651) 645-4097 tnelson@aclu-mn.org dmckinney@aclu-mn.org

-and-

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION Julie A. Ebenstein (pro hac vice) Sophia L. Lakin (pro hac vice) 125 Broad Street New York, NY 10004 Phone: (212) 607-3300

jebenstein@aclu.org slakin@aclu.org

Respectfully submitted,

UPPER MIDWEST LAW CENTER

Dated: December 20, 2023

/s/ James V. F. Dickey
Douglas P. Seaton (#127759)
James V. F. Dickey (#393613)
8421 Wayzata Blvd., Suite 300
Golden Valley, Minnesota 55426
(612) 428-7000

doug.seaton@umlc.org james.dickey@umlc.org

Attorneys for Petitioners-Appellants

MINNESOTA
JUDICIAL
BRANCH