SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

ARIZONA REPUBLICAN PARTY, a recognized political party; and YVONNE CAHILL, an officer and member of the Arizona Republican Party and Arizona voter and taxpayer,

) Arizona Supreme Court
) No. CV-22-0048-SA

Petitioners,

v.

FILED 04/05/2022

KATIE HOBBS, in her official capacity as Arizona Secretary of State; and STATE OF ARIZONA, a body politic,

Respondents.

ORDER DECLINING JURISDICTION

The Court has before it an "Application for Issuance of Writ under Exercise of Original Jurisdiction" filed by the Arizona Republican Party and Yvonne Cahill ("Petitioners"), a "Combined Response to Petition for Special Action" filed by Arizona Secretary of State Katie Hobbs, a "Response to Application for Issuance of Writ Under Exercise of Original Jurisdiction" filed by the State of Arizona, a "Reply to State of Arizona's Response to Application" and "Reply to Respondent Arizona Secretary of State" filed by Petitioners, and a number of amicus briefs, both in support of Petitioners' application and in opposition. After consideration,

Arizona Supreme Court No. CV-22-0048-SA Page ${\bf 2}$ of ${\bf 4}$

"Application for Issuance of Writ under Exercise of Original Jurisdiction." Petitioners have not persuaded the Court that Issues #1 and #2 can be decided without a factual record; and Issue #3 must be declined for lack of original jurisdiction over the respondent State, which is not itself a "state officer." Ariz. Const. art. 6 § 5 (1) (conferring original jurisdiction on the Arizona Supreme Court over "habeas corpus, and quo warranto, mandamus, injunction and other extraordinary writs to state officers") (emphasis supplied). This order is without prejudice to the parties' refiling this case in superior Court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED dismissing as moot the "Motion to Intervene as Respondents" filed by the Arizona Democratic Party, et al.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED denying Petitioners' request for attorneys' fees and costs.

DATED this 5^{TH} day of April, 2022.

/s/
ROBERT BRUTINEL
Chief Justice

TO:

Alexander Michael del Ray Kolodin Veronica Thorson Roger W Strassburg Jr Arno Naeckel Sambo Dul Roopali H Desai Kristen M Yost D Andrew Gaona Mark Brnovich Joseph A Kanefield Brunn W Roysden III Michael S Catlett Jennifer Wright PET LATER THE DE LA COMPANIE NO CHARLES TO C Timothy A LaSota William P Ring Roy Herrera Daniel A Arellano Jillian Andrews M Patrick Moore Jr. Elisabeth C Frost Richard A Medina William K Hancock Paul F Eckstein Daniel C Barr Austin Yost Luci Danielle Davis Kathleen E Brody Jon Sherman Daniel J Adelman Samuel Schnarch Thomas P Liddy Joseph Branco Karen J Hartman-Tellez Joseph Eugene La Rue Anna Christina Estes-Werther Nancy L Davidson James E Barton II Jacqueline Soto Maya S Abela Corey Lovato Doreen N McPaul Katherine Claire Belzowski Frances R Sjoberg Aidan Graybill Patricia F Bohnee

Arizona Supreme Court No. CV-22-0048-SA Page ${\bf 4}$ of ${\bf 4}$

Judith M Dworkin
Joshua W Carden
David Warrington
Gary Lawkowski
Dennis I Wilenchik
John D Wilenchik
Jordan C Wolff

RETRIEVED FROM DEMOCRACYDOCKET. COM