IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF NORTH DAKOTA

Case No: 3:22-cv-00022

Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa)	NOTICE OF APPEAL BY THIRD-
Indians, Spirit Lake Tribe, Wesley Davis,)	PARTIES NORTH DAKOTA
Zachary S. King, and Collette Brown.)	LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, SENATOR
) .	RAY HOLMBERG, SENATOR
Plaintiffs,)	RICHARD WARDNER, SENATOR
)	NICOLE POOLMAN,
V.)	REPRESENTATIVE MICHAEL
)	NATHE, REPRESENTATIVE WILLIAM
Michael Howe, in his official capacity as)	R. DEVLIN, REPRESENTATIVE
Secretary of State of North Dakota.)	TERRY JONES, SENIOR COUNSEL AT
)	THE NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE
Defendant)	COUNCIL CLAIRE NESS.
)	7.00
***	***	***

Third-Party Respondents North Dakota Legislative Assembly, Senator Ray Holmberg, Senator Richard Wardner, Senator Nicole Poolman, Representative Michael Nathe, Representative William R. Devlin, Representative Terry Jones and Senior Counsel at the North Dakota Legislative Council Claire Ness, hereby give notice of their appeal of the District Court's March 14, 2023 Order (Doc. 72) denying third-party respondents' appeal, and affirming the Magistrate Judge's Order Granting Plaintiffs Motion to Enforce Third-Party Subpoenas (Doc 63).

Further, Third-Party Respondents North Dakota Legislative Assembly and State Representative William Devlin, hereby give notice of their appeal of the District Court's March 14, 2023 Order (Doc. 71) denying third-party respondents appeal, and affirming the Magistrate Judge's Order Denying Third-Party Respondent's Motion to Quash Subpoenas. (Doc. 48).

In light of a circuit split with respect to jurisdictional issues related to this appeal, the Third-Party Respondents will also file a Petition for Writ of Mandamus with the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 21.

Dated this 27th day of March, 2023.

SMITH PORSBORG SCHWEIGERT ARMSTRONG MOLDENHAUER & SMITH

By /s/ Scott K. Porsborg

Scott K. Porsborg (ND Bar ID #04904) sporsborg@smithporsborg.com
Brian D. Schmidt (ND Bar ID #07498) bschmidt@smithporsborg.com
Austin T. Lafferty (ND Bar ID #07833) alafferty@smithporsborg.com
122 East Broadway Avenue
P.O. Box 460
Bismarck, ND 58502-0460
(701) 258-0630

Attorney for the North Dakota Legislative Assembly, Senators Ray Holmberg, Nicole Poolman, and Rich Wardner; Representatives Bill Devlin, Mike Nathe, and Terry B. Jones, and Former Senior Counsel Claire Ness

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on the 27th day of March, 2023, a true and correct copy of the foregoing NOTICE OF APPEAL BY THIRD-PARTIES NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, SENATOR RAY HOLMBERG, SENATOR RICHARD WARDNER, SENATOR NICOLE POOLMAN, REPRESENTATIVE MICHAEL NATHE, REPRESENTATIVE WILLIAM R. DEVLIN, REPRESENTATIVE TERRY JONES, SENIOR COUNSEL AT THE NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CLAIRE NESS was filed electronically with the Clerk of Court through ECF, and that ECF will send a Notice of Electronic Filing (NEF) to the following:

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFFS

Michael S. Carter Matthew Campbell Attorneys At Law 1506 Broadway Boulder, CO 80301

<u>carter@narf.org</u> <u>mcampbell@narf.org</u>

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFFS

Mark P. Garber Molley E. Danahy Attorneys At Law 1101 14th St. NW, Ste. 400 Washington, DC 20005 mgaber@campaignlegal.org mdanahy@campaignlegal.org

ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFFS

Timothy Q Purdon Attorney at Law 1207 West Divide Avenue, Suite 200 Bismarck, ND 58501

tpurdon@robinskaplan.com

ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFFS

Samantha B. Kelty Attorney at Law 1514 P St. NW, Suite D Washington, D.C. 20005 kelty@narf.org

ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFF

Bryan Sells Attorney at Law P.O. Box 5493 Atlanta, GA 31107-0493

bryan@bryansellslaw.com

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT MICHAEL HOWE

Matthew A Sagsveen Assistant Attorney General 500 North 9th Street Bismarck, ND 58501-4509

David R. Phillips Bradley N. Wiederholt Special Assistant Attorney General 300 West Century Avenue P.O. Box 4247 Bismarck, ND 58502-4247 masagsve@nd.gov

<u>dphillips@bgwattorneys.com</u> <u>bwiederholt@bgwattorneys.com</u>

By /s/ Scott K. Porsborg
SCOTT K. PORSBORG