IN THE SUPREME COURT OF KANSAS

FAITH RIVERA, DIOSSELYN TOT-VELASQUEZ, KIMBERLY WEAVER, PARIS RAITE, DONNAVAN DILLON, and LOUD LIGHT,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

TOM ALONZO, SHARON AL-UQDAH, AMY CARTER, CONNIE BROWN COLLINS, SHEYVETTE DINKENS, MELINDA LAVON, ANA MARCELA MALDONADO MORALES, LIZ MEITL, RICHARD NOBLES, ROSE SCHWAB, and ANNA WHITE,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

SUSAN FRICK, LAUREN SULLIVAN, DARRELL LEA, and SUSAN SPRING SCHIFFELBEIN,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

SCOTT SCHWAB, in his official capacity as Kansas Secretary of State, and MICHAEL ABBOTT, in his official capacity as Election Commissioner of Wyandotte County, Kansas.

Defendants-Appellants

JAMIE SHEW, in his official capacity as Douglas County Clerk.

Defendant.

Case No. 125092

MOTION TO EXPEDITE

Appellants Kansas Secretary of State Scott Schwab and Wyandotte County Election Commissioner Michael Abbott respectfully move that this proceeding be expedited given the urgency of this matter.

Earlier this year, the Kansas Legislature enacted Substitute for Senate Bill 355 (SB 355). SB 355 adopted the "Ad Astra 2" map for congressional districts. Plaintiffs in three separate cases sued to enjoin the use of SB 355 in the upcoming elections, and this Court subsequently consolidated the three cases in Wyandotte County. See Joint Request of Seventh Judicial Dist. & Twenty-Ninth Judicial Dist., No. 124,927 (Kan. Mar. 24, 2022). Following trial, the district court on April 25, 2022, enjoined the use of the Ad Astra 2 map for congressional elections and ordered the Legislature to draw a new map. Appellants filed an immediate appeal with this Court.

Kansas Supreme Court Rule 7.01(b) (2021 Kan. S. Ct. R. 41), allows "[t]he court on motion [to] advance other cases as justice or the public interest may require." As this Court recognized in denying Appellants' earlier Petition in Mandamus and Quo Warranto, the questions in this appeal "warrant a speedy resolution," and this Court "encourage[d] the parties" to work "to expeditiously resolve" them and to "present a timely appeal" in "the near future." *Schwab v. Klapper*, __ Kan. __, 505 P.3d 345, 348, 350 (2022). Candidates for national offices have until Wednesday, June 1, 2022, to submit the necessary paperwork for primary elections, or until June 10, 2022, if "new boundary lines are [not] defined

and districts established in the manner prescribed by law" by May 10. See K.S.A. 25-205(a). With the filing deadline rapidly approaching, it is vital that this case be decided in an expedited matter. See Schwab, 505 P.3d at 348 ("Expeditious confirmation of congressional district lines benefits candidates seeking to run in congressional districts, state officials responsible for administering congressional elections in those districts, and constituents who need to know the congressional district in which they will reside."). Appellants note that this Court has previously decided urgent matters involving upcoming elections in an expedited fashion. See Taylor v. Kobach, 300 Kan. 731, 334 P.3d 306 (2014).

Appellants propose the following expedited schedule for briefing and oral argument:

- May 2, 2022 Appellants' Opening Brief Due
- May 9, 2022 Appellee's Response Briefs Due
- May 12, 2022 Appellants' Reply Brief Due
- May 16, 2022 (or at the Court's earliest convenience) Oral Argument
 This schedule should allow the Court to issue an opinion and, if necessary, allow the
 Legislature to take remedial action before the candidate filing deadline.

Accordingly, the Appellants respectfully request that this proceeding be expedited.

Respectfully submitted,

OFFICE OF ATTORNEY GENERAL DEREK SCHMIDT

By: /s/ Brant M. Laue Jeffrey A. Chanay, #12056 Chief Deputy Attorney General Brant M. Laue, #16857 Solicitor General of Kansas Dwight R. Carswell, #25111 Deputy Solicitor General Shannon Grammel, #29105 Deputy Solicitor General Kurtis K. Wiard, #26373 Assistant Solicitor General

Memorial Bldg., 2nd Floor 120 SW 10th Avenue Topeka, Kansas 66612-1597 Tel: (785) 296-2215 Fax: (785) 291-3767 Email: jeff.chanay@ag.ks.gov dwight.carswell@ag.ks.gov shannon.grammel@ag.ks.gov

FOULSTON SIEFKIN LLP Anthony F. Rupp, KS #11590 9225 Indian Creek Pkwy., Ste. 600 Overland Park, KS 66210

Phone: 913-498-2100 Fax: 913-498-2101

Email: trupp@foulston.com

Gary Ayers, KS #10345 Clayton Kaiser, KS #24066 1551 N. Waterfront Pkwy., Ste. 100 Wichita, KS 67206-4466

Phone: 316-267-6371 Fax: 316-267-6345

Email: gayers@foulston.com Email: ckaiser@foulston.com

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on April 26, 2022, I electronically filed this document with the Clerk of the Court using the Court's electronic filing system, which will send a notice of electronic filing to all counsel of record, and copies were sent via email to:

Counsel for Plaintiffs Rivera, Tot-Velasquez, Weaver, Raite, Dillon, and Loud Light (Wyandotte Cty. 89):

Barry Grissom
Jake Miller
GRISSOM MILLER LAW FIRM LLC
1600 Genessee Street
Suite 460
Kansas City, Missouri 64102
Email: barry@grissommiller.com
Email: jake@grissommiller.com
(913) 359-0123

ELIAS LAW GROUP, LLP Abha Khanna 1700 Seventh Ave, Suite 2100 Seattle, WA 98101 Email: akhanna@elias.law

(206) 656-0177

Lalitha D. Madduri

Henry J. Brewster
Spencer W. Klein
Joseph N. Posimato
10 G Street NE
Suite 600
Washington, DC 20002
Email: lmadduri@elias.law
Email: hbrewster@elias.law
Email: sklein@elias.law
Email: jposimato@elias.law
(202) 968-4518

Counsel for Plaintiffs Alonzo, Al-Uqdah, Carter, Brown Collins, Dinkens, Lavon, Maldonado Morales, Meitl, Nobles, Schwab, and White (Wyandotte Cty. 90):

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION OF KANSAS

Sharon Brett Josh Pierson Kayla DeLoach 6701 W 64th St., Suite 210 Overland Park, KS 66202 (913) 490-4100

Email: sbrett@aclukansas.org Email: jpierson@aclukansas.org Email: kdeloach@aclukansas.org

CAMPAIGN LEGAL CENTER

Mark P. Gaber Kevin Hancock Sam Horan Christopher Lamar Orion de Nevers 1101 14th St. NW, Suite 400 Washington, DC 20005 (202) 736-2200

Email: mgaber@campaignlegalcenter.org Email: khancock@campaignlegalcenter.org Email: shoran@campaignlegalcenter.org Email: clamar@campaignlegalcenter.org Email: odenevers@campaignlegalcenter.org

ARNOLD & PORTER KAYE SCHOLER LLP

Elisabeth S. Theodore R. Stanton Jones John A. Freedman 601 Massachusetts Ave, NW Washington, DC 20001 (202) 942-5316

Email: Elisabeth.theodore@arnoldporter.com Email: stanton.jones@arnold porter.com Email: john.freedman.@arnoldporter.com

TOMASIC & REHORN

Rick Reborn
P.O. Box 171855
Kansas City, KS 66117-0855
(P) (913) 371-5750 | (F) (913) 713-0065

Email: rick@tomasicrehorn.com

Counsel for Plaintiffs Frick, Sullivan, Lea, and Schiffelbein (Douglas Cty.):

DENTONS US LLP Mark P. Johnson Stephen R. McAlister Curtis E. Woods 4520 Main Street, Ste. 110

Kansas City, MO 64111 Email: mark.johnson@dentons.com

Email: Stephen.mcalister@dentons.com

Email: Curtis.woods@dentons.com

Counsel for Defendant Shew (Douglas Cty.):

STEVENS & BRAND

J. Eric Weslander John T. Bullock PO Box 189

Lawrence, KS 66044

Email: eweslander@stevensbrand.com Email: jbullock@stevensbrand.com

. NO

/s/ Brant M. Laue Brant M. Laue, #16857