

North Carolina Court of Appeals

Fax: (919) 831-3615 Web: https://www.nccourts.gov EUGENE H. SOAR, Clerk Court of Appeals Building One West Morgan Street Raleigh, NC 27601 (919) 831-3600

Mailing Address: P. O. Box 2779 Raleigh, NC 27602

From Wake (21CVS015426)

No. P21-525

NORTH CAROLINA LEAGUE OF **CONSERVATION VOTERS, INC.;** HENRY M. MICHAUX, JR.; DANDRIELLE LEWIS; TIMOTHY CHARTIER; TALIA FERNÃ"S; KATHERINE NEWHALL; R. JASON PARSLEY; EDNA SCOTT; ROBERTA SCOTT; YVETTE ROBERTS; JEREANN KING JOHNSON; REVEREND REGINALD WELLS; YARBROUGH WILLIAMS, JR.; REVEREND DELORIS L. JERMAN; **VIOLA RYALS FIGUEROA; AND** COSMOS GEORGE,

PLAINTIFFS,

V.

ROWDE WOCK BUCK DOCKET COM REPRESENTATIVE DESTIN HALL, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS CHAIR OF THE HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING: SENATOR WARREN DANIEL, IN HIS CAPACITY AS CO-CHAIR OF THE SENATE STANDING **COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING AND ELECTIONS; SENATOR RALPH E. HISE,** JR., IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS CO-CHAIR OF THE SENATE STANDING COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING AND ELECTIONS; SENATOR PAUL NEWTON, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS CO-CHAIR OF THE SENATE STANDING COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING AND ELECTIONS; REPRENTATIVE TIMOTHY K. MOORE, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS SPEAKER OF REPRESENTATIVES; SENATOR PHILIP E. BERGER, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE NORTH CAROLINA SENATE; THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA; THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE **BOARD OF ELECTIONS; DAMON** CIRCOSTA, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS CHAIRMAN OF THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE **BOARD OF ELECTIONS; STELLA** ANDERSON, IN HER OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS SECRETARY OF THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE **BOARD OF ELECTIONS; JEFF CARMON III,** IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS MEMBER OF THE

NORTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS; STACY EGGERS IV, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS MEMBER OF THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS; TOMMY TUCKER, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS MEMBER OF THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS; and KAREN BRINSON BELL, IN HER OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS,

DEFENDANTS.

ORDER

The following order was entered:

The motion for temporary stay filed by Plaintiffs on 6 December 2021 is allowed in part to enjoin Defendants from opening of the candidate-filing period for the 2022 primary elections for Congress, the North Carolina Senate, and the North Carolina House of Representatives pending this Court's ruling on Plaintiffs' 'Petition for Writ of Supersedeas or Prohibition.' The period for Defendants to respond to Plaintiffs' petition shall close at 12:00 p.m. on 9 December 2021. A ruling on the petition will be made upon Defendants' filing of their responses or the expiration of the response period if no response is filed.

By order of the Court this the 6th of December 2021.

WITNESS my hand and official seal this the 6th day of December 2021.

Eugene H. Soar

Clerk, North Carolina Court of Appeals

Copy to:

Mr. Stephen D. Feldman, Attorney at Law, For North Carolina League of Conservation Voters, Inc.

Mr. Erik R. Zimmerman, Attorney at Law, For North Carolina League of Conservation Voters, Inc.

Mr. Thomas A. Farr, Attorney at law, For North Carolina League of Conservation Voters, Inc.

Mr. John E. Branch, III, Attorney at Law, For North Carolina League of Conservation Voters, Inc.

Ms. Alyssa Riggins, Attorney at Law, For North Carolina League of Conservation Voters, Inc.

Mr. Phillip J. Strach, Attorney at Law

Mr. Terence Steed, Assistant Attorney General, For The State of North Carolina Board of Elections

Ms. Stephanie A. Brennan, Special Deputy Attorney General, For The State of North Carolina Board of Elections

Mr. Amar Majmundar, Senior Deputy Attorney General, For The State of North Carolina Board of Elections

Mark E. Braden, For Representative Destin Hall (Chair of the House standing Committee on Redistricting), et al Katherine Mcknight, For Representative Destin Hall (Chair of the House standing Committee on Redistricting), et al Richard Raile, For Representative Destin Hall (Chair of the House standing Committee on Redistricting), et al

Hon. Frank Blair Williams, Clerk of Superior Court