

## THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Post Office Box 12248 Austin, Texas 78711

(512) 463-1312

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Mr. Wallace B. Jefferson Alexander Dubose & Jefferson LLP 515 Congress Avenue, Suite 2350 Austin, TX 78701-3562 \* DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL \* Mr. Patrick K. Sweeten
Office of the Attorney General of Texas
P.O. Box 12548
Austin, TX 78711-2548
\* DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL \*

Mr. George (Tex) Quesada Sommerman, McCaffity, Quesada & Geisler, LLP 3811 Turtle Creek Blvd., Suite 1400 Dallas, TX 75219-4461 \* DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL \*

RE: Case Number: 22-0008 Court of Appeals Number:

Trial Court Number: D-1-GN-21-006515

Style: GREG ABBOTT, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF TEXAS; JOHN SCOTT, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS SECRETARY OF STATE OF TEXAS; THE STATE OF TEXAS

v.

MEXICAN AMERICAN LEGISLATIVE CAUCUS, TEXAS HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES; ROLAND GUTIERREZ; SARAH ECKHARDT; RUEBEN CORTEZ, JR.; TEJANO DEMOCRATS

Dear Counsel:

The Supreme Court of Texas requests that the parties file supplemental briefs addressing the following questions:

1. Is the State of Texas a proper defendant to a claim seeking a declaratory judgment that H.B. 1 and S.B. 4 violate Article III, Section 28 of the Texas Constitution and that H.B. 1 violates Article III, Section 26 of the Texas Constitution? Stated another way, are any plaintiff's alleged injuries "traceable" to the "State's" conduct (as opposed to a particular official's or agency's conduct) and redressable by an order that may be directed against the "State" (as opposed to a particular official or agency), as required to establish that plaintiff's standing?

2. If the answer to the first question is no, is the defect curable; and if so, how?

The supplemental briefs are due no later than 5:00 p.m., Thursday, May 5, 2022.



## THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Post Office Box 12248 Austin, Texas 78711

(512) 463-1312

Sincerely,

Blake A. Huwala

Blake A. Hawthorne, Clerk

by Claudia Jenks, Chief Deputy Clerk

cc: District Clerk Travis County (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Mr. Sean Joseph McCaffity (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Ms. Lanora Pettit (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Mr. William Thompson (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Mr. William Cole (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Mr. Christopher Hilton (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Mr. Jack DiSorbo (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Mr. Eric A. Hudson (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Kathleen Hunker (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Ms. Courtney B. Corbello (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)

Mr. Joaquin Gonzalez (DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL)