## IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS AUSTIN DIVISION

21 NOV -8 PM 3: 10 GLERK. U.S. DIS ESTERN DISTRICT OF

FILED

ROY CHARLES BROOKS, FELIPE GUTIERREZ, PHYLLIS GOINES, EVA BONILLA, CLARA FAULKNER, DEBORAH SPELL, and BEVERLY POWELL,

Plaintiffs,

v.

GOVERNOR GREG ABBOTT, in his official capacity; and SECRETARY OF STATE OF TEXAS JOHN SCOTT, in his official capacity, 1:21-CV-00991

Defendants.

## ORDER CONSTITUTING THREE-JUDGE COURT

This suit challenges the constitutionality of the apportionment of Texas Senate districts, which are statewide legislative bodies. United States District Court Judge Lee Yeakel has requested, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2284(b), that a three-judge court be convened. I hereby designate a Circuit Judge and a District Judge to serve with Judge Yeakel. The members of the three-judge district court convened under 28 U.S.C. § 2284 are:

Judge Jerty E. Smith Circuit Judge United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

Judge Lee Yeakel United States District Judge Western District of Texas

Judge Jeffrey V. Brown United States District Judge Southern District of Texas

riscilla Q. Quen

Priscilla R. Owen Chief Judge United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

November 8, 2021