IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS EL PASO DIVISION

LEAGUE OF UNITED LATIN AMERICAN CITIZENS, <i>et al.</i> ,	
Plaintiffs,	
V.	Case No. 3:21-cv-00259 [Lead Case]
GREG ABBOTT, et al.,	<u> </u>
Defendants.	© Case No. 3:21-cv-00259 © [Lead Case] © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © ©
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,	<u>S</u>
Plaintiff,	
V.	S Case No. 3:21-cv-00299
STATE OF TEXAS, et al.,	Case No. 3:21-cv-00299 [Consolidated Case]
Defendants.	

AMENDED NOTICE OF APPEAL BY TEXAS HOUSE MEMBERS AND EMPLOYEES AS THIRD-PARTY MOVANTS

Third-party movants, Texas Representatives Ryan Guillen, Brooks Landgraf, and John Lujan, previously appealed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit this Court's Order entered on May 18, 2022. See Order Denying Mot. to Quash, ECF 282; see also Notice of Appeal (May 18, 2022). That Order denied the legislators' Motions to Quash or Modify Deposition Subpoenas issued to the legislators. See Order, ECF 282; see also Mot. to Quash United States' Subpoenas, ECF 259; Mot. to Quash Private Plaintiffs' Subpoenas, ECF 278. The appeal is currently pending and has been held in abeyance. LULAC v. Guillen, No. 22-50407 (5th Cir.).

Additional third-parties have been subpoenaed and have moved to quash subpoenas based on the same legislative privilege arguments. Those additional third-party movants are Texas Representatives Todd Hunter, Daniel Huberty, Jacey Jetton, J.M. Lozano, and Andrew Murr; Texas House Parliamentarian Sharon Carter; and Texas House employees Jay Dyer, Angie Flores, and Adam Foltz. They now also appeal this Court's Orders entered on June 15, 2022 and July 6, 2022, to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. See Order Denying Mot. to Quash, ECF 340; Order Regarding Motions to Quash, ECF 409. The June 15 Order denied the legislators and employees' Motion to Quash Deposition Subpoenas and for Protective Order. See Order, ECF 340; see also Mot. to Quash, ECF 333. As relevant here, the July 6 Order denied Parliamentarian Carter's Motion to Quash Deposition Subpoena. See Order 9-11, ECF 409; see also Mot. to Quash, ECF 341.

PAEL LATER THE DE LA COMPANIE NO CHARLES THE COMPANIE

Date: July 15, 2022

Patrick Strawbridge CONSOVOY MCCARTHY PLLC Ten Post Office Square 8th Floor South PMB #706 Boston, MA 02109 Tel: (703) 243-9423 patrick@consovoymccarthy.com

Adam K. Mortara LAWFAIR LLC 125 South Wacker, Suite 300 Chicago, IL 60606 Tel: (773) 750-7154 mortara@lawfairllc.com

KEN PAXTON Attorney General of Texas

BRENT WEBSTER First Assistant Attorney General Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Taylor A.R. Meehan
J. Michael Connolly
Taylor A.R. Meehan
Frank H. Chang
Jeffrey S. Hetzel
CONSOVOY MCCARTHY PLLC
1600 Wilson Blvd., Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22209
Tel: (703) 243-9423
mike@consovoymccarthy.com
taylor@consovoymccarthy.com
frank@consovoymccarthy.com
jhetzel@consovoymccarthy.com

Counsel for Third-Party Movants.

/s/ Patrick K. Sweeter PATRICK K. SWEETEN Deputy Attorney General for Special Litigation Tex. State Bar No. 00798537

WILLIAM T. THOMPSON
Deputy Chief, Special Litigation Unit
Tex. State Bar No. 24088531

JACK B. DISORBO Assistant Attorney General, Special Litigation Unit Tex. State Bar No. 24120804

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

Austin, Texas 78711-2548 Tel.: (512) 463-2100 Fax: (512) 457-4410 patrick.sweeten@oag.texas.gov will.thompson@oag.texas.gov jack.disorbo@oag.texas.gov

P.O. Box 12548 (MC-009)

Counsel for Defendants and Third-Party Movants.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a true and accurate copy of the foregoing document was filed electronically (via CM/ECF) on July 15, 2022, and that all counsel of record were served by CM/ECF.

/s/ Taylor A.R. Meehan Taylor A.R. Meehan

RELIBIENED FROM DEMOCRACYDOCKET.COM