IN THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

Bria Bennett, et al.,

Relators,

v.

Ohio Redistricting Commission, et al.,

Respondents.

Case No. 2021-1198

Original Action Filed Pursuant to Ohio Constitution, Article XI, Section 9(A)

[Apportionment Case Pursuant to S. Ct. Prac. R. 14.03]

RELATORS' MOTION FOR ORAL ARGUMENT

Abha Khanna (PHV 2189-2021) Ben Stafford (PHV 25433-2021) ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP 1700 Seventh Ave, Suite 2100 Seattle, WA 98101 T: (206) 656-0176 F: (206) 656-0180 akhanna@elias.law bstafford@elias.law

Aria C. Branch (PHV 25435-2021)
Jyoti Jasrasaria (PHV 25401-2021)
Spencer W. Klein (PHV 25432-2021)
ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP
10 G St NE, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20002
T: (202) 968-4490
F: (202) 968-4498
abranch@elias.law
jjasrasaria@elias.law
sklein@elias.law

Donald J. McTigue* (0022849)

*Counsel of Record

Derek S. Clinger (0092075)

MCTIGUE & COLOMBO LLC

545 East Town Street

Columbus, OH 43215

T: (614) 263-7000

F: (614) 368-6961

dmctigue@electionlawgroup.com

Erik J. Clark (0078732) Ashley Merino (0096853) ORGAN LAW LLP 1330 Dublin Road Columbus, OH 43215 T: (614) 481-0900 F: (614) 481-0904 ejolark@organlegal.com amerino@organlegal.com

Counsel for Respondent Ohio Redistricting Commission

Dave Yost
OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL
Bridget C. Coontz (0072919)
Julie M. Pfeiffer (0069762)
Michael Walton (0092201)
OFFICE OF THE OHIO ATTORNEY
GENERAL
30 E. Broad Street, 16th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
T: (614) 466-2872
F: (614) 728-7592
Bridget.Coontz@OhioAGO.gov
Julie.Pfeiffer@OhioAGO.gov
Michael.Walton@OhioAGO.gov

Counsel for Respondents Ohio Governor Mike DeWine, Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose, and Ohio Auditor Keith Faber

dclinger@electionlawgroup.com

Counsel for Relators

W. Stuart Dornette (0002955) Beth A. Bryan (0082076) Philip D. Williamson (0097174) TAFT STETTINIUS & HOLLISTER LLP 425 Walnut St., Suite 1800 Cincinnati, OH 45202-3957 T: (513) 381-2838 dornette@taftlaw.com bryan@taftlaw.com pwilliamson@taftlaw.com

Phillip J. Strach Thomas A. Farr John E. Branch, III Alyssa M. Riggins **NELSON MULLINS RILEY &** SCARBOROUGH LLP 4140 Parklake Ave., Suite 200 Raleigh, NC 27612 phil.strach@nelsonmullins.com relson
...ranch@nels
alyssa.riggins@nel
T: (919) 329-3812

Counsel for r
Huffm tom.farr@nelsonmullins.com john.branch@nelsonmullins.com alyssa.riggins@nelsonmullins.com

Counsel for Respondents Senate President Matt Huffman and House Speaker Robert Cupp

Diane Menashe (0070305) John Gilligan (0024542) ICE MILLER LLP 250 West Street, Suite 700 Columbus, Ohio 43215 Diane.Menashe@icemiller.com John.Gilligan@icemiller.com T: (614) 462-2221 F: (614) 222-3438

Counsel for Respondents Senator Vernon Sykes and House Minority Leader Emilia Sykes

Pursuant to S.Ct.Prac.R. 14.03(C)(2) and 17.02, Relators Bria Bennett *et al.* respectfully move for oral argument before the Court on the merits of their challenge to the apportionment plan for General Assembly districts (the "2021 Plan") adopted by the Ohio Redistricting Commission (the "Commission") on September 16, 2021.

Oral argument should be held in this apportionment challenge because the question presented—whether the 2021 Plan complies with the recently overhauled constitutional process for drawing state legislative districts—is a matter of great public importance, involves a substantial constitutional issue, and involves complex issues of law and fact. Indeed, this action, along with two other apportionment challenges that were filed around the same time, *League of Women Voters of Ohio v. Ohio Redistricting Comm.*, Case No. 2021-1193 and *Ohio Organizing Collaborative v. Ohio Redistricting Comm.*, Case No. 2021-1210, will be the Court's first opportunity to interpret the new redistricting process set forth in Article XI of the Ohio Constitution, and the Court's ruling will no doubt greatly influence the redistricting process for decades to come. Given the great importance of the matter, the Court would benefit from the fullest opportunity to ask questions of the parties' legal counsel. Redistricting cases by their nature also involve complex questions of law and fact, as demonstrated by the large amounts of evidence submitted by the Relators in all three cases and the substantive arguments related to the proper interpretation and application of newly mandated constitutional requirements.

Furthermore, although the Court already scheduled oral argument in the *League of Women Voters* case, *see 09/29/2021 Case Announcements #2*, 2021-Ohio-3424 (scheduling oral argument for December 8, 2021), which includes common claims, the relators in that action have offered their own expert reports and may offer different legal perspectives than the *Bennett* Relators are

presenting in their case. As a result, it cannot be presumed that the *Bennett* Relators' position will be presented and defended during oral argument in the *League of Women Voters* case.

For all these reasons, the *Bennett* Relators respectfully request the Court to schedule oral argument in this action.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Donald J. McTigue_

Donald J. McTigue* (0022849)
*Counsel of Record
Derek S. Clinger (0092075)
MCTIGUE & COLOMBO LLC
545 East Town Street
Columbus, OH 43215
T: (614) 263-7000
F: (614) 368-6961
dmctigue@electionlawgroup.com
dclinger@electionlawgroup.com

Abha Khanna (PHV 2189-2021)
Ben Stafford (PHV 25433-2021)
ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP
1700 Seventh Ave, Suite 2100
Seattle, WA 98101
T: (206) 656-0176
F: (206) 656-0180
akhanna@elias.law
bstafford@elias.law

Aria C. Branch (PHV 25435-2021)
Jyoti Jasrasaria (PHV 25401-2021)
Spencer W. Klein (PHV 25432-2021)
ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP
10 G St NE, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20002
T: (202) 968-4490
F: (202) 968-4498
abranch@elias.law
jjasrasaria@elias.law
sklein@elias.law

Counsel for Relators

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion for Oral Argument was sent via email this 29th day of October, 2021 to the following:

Erik Clark, ejclark@organlegal.com Ashley Merino, amerino@organlegal.com

Counsel for Respondent Ohio Redistricting Commission

Bridget Coontz, Bridget.Coontz@OhioAGO.gov Julie Pfeiffer, Julie. Pfeiffer@OhioAGO.gov Michael Walton, Michael.Walton@OhioAGO.gov

Counsel for Respondents Ohio Governor Mike DeWine, Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose, and Ohio Auditor Keith Faber

W. Stuart Dornette, dornette@taftlaw.com
Beth A. Bryan, bryan@taftlaw.com
Philip D. Williamson, pwilliamson@taftlaw.com
Phillip J. Strach, phil.strach@nelsonmullins.com
Thomas A. Farr, tom.farr@nelsonmullins.com
John E. Branch, III, john.branch@nelsonmullins.com
Alyssa M. Riggins, alyssa.riggins@nelsonmullins.com

Counsel for Respondents Senate President Matt Huffman and House Speaker Robert Cupp

Diane Menashe, diane.menashe@icemiller.com John Gilligan, john.gilligan@icemiller.com

Counsel for Respondents Senator Vernon Sykes and House Minority Leader Emilia Sykes

/s/ Derek S. Clinger Derek S. Clinger (0092075)