Filed 03-01-2024

FILED 03-01-2024 CLERK OF WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT

Office of the Clerk Supreme Court of Wisconsin

> 110 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 215 P.O. BOX 1688 MADISON, WI 53701-1688

> > TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880 FACSIMILE (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

> > > March 1, 2024

Anthony D. Russomanno Electronic Notice

Brian P. Keenan Electronic Notice

Mel Barnes Electronic Notice

*Distribution list continued on pages 2-4.

You are hereby notified that the Court has entered the following order:

No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

On January 16, 2024, intervenors-petitioners, Lisa Hunter et al., filed a motion and supporting memorandum asking for relief from the decision and order entered by this court on March 3, 2022. On January 29, 2024, a response to the motion was filed by intervenors-petitioners, Stephen Joseph Wright et al. ("Citizen Mathematicians and Scientists"). On January 30, 2024, separate responses to the motion were filed by petitioners, Billie Johnson et al.; intervenors-petitioners, Congressmen Glenn Grothman et al.; and intervenor-respondent, the Wisconsin Legislature. On February 1, 2024, intervenor-respondent, Senate Democratic Minority Leader Dianne Hesselbein, on behalf of the Senate Democratic Caucus, filed a letter with the court taking no position on the motion. On February 9, 2024, intervenors-petitioners, Lisa Hunter et al., filed a motion for leave to file a reply in support of their motion for relief from judgment with a proposed reply. On February 19, 2024, Governor Evers filed a letter advising the court that he had signed Senate Bill 488 into law, which has created 2023 Wisconsin Act 94, but which does not impact the motion for relief from judgment in this case. The Governor's letter also speaks in favor of this court reviewing its decision in this case with respect to the adoption of congressional district maps. The court having considered all of the filings,

To:

Richard M. Esenberg Electronic Notice

Lucas Thomas Vebber Electronic Notice

Steven Kilpatrick Electronic Notice Page 2 March 1, 2024 No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

IT IS ORDERED that the motion for leave to file a reply in support of the motion for relief from judgment is granted, and the proposed reply is accepted for filing; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that motion for relief from judgment is denied.

JANET C. PROTASIEWICZ, J., did not participate.

REBECCA GRASSL BRADLEY, J. (*concurring*). This motion comes as no surprise after the court's new majority telegraphed its willingness to rebalance political power in the state of Wisconsin by overturning Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission, 2021 WI 87, 399 Wis. 2d 623, 967 N.W.2d 469 (Johnson I), and Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission, 2022 WI 19, 401 Wis. 2d 198, 972 N.W.2d 559 (Johnson III). The new majority's reckless abandonment of settled legal precedent in <u>Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission</u>, 2023 WI 79, 410 Wis. 2d 1, 998 N.W.2d 370, incentivizes litigants to bring politically divisive cases to this court regardless of their legal merit. While the court rightfully denies this motion, it likely won't be long until the new majority flexes its political power again to advance a partisan agenda despite the damage inflicted on the independence and integrity of the court.

I am authorized to state that Chief Justice ANNETTE KINGSLAND ZIEGLER joins this concurrence.

Address list continued: Anthony LoCoco Electronic Notice	Samuel A. Christensen Clerk of Supreme Court
Address list continued:	
Anthony LoCoco Electronic Notice	Jessica R. Amunson Electronic Notice
Kevin M. St. John	Sam Hirsch
Electronic Notice	Electronic Notice
Sarah A. Zylstra	Diane M. Welsh
Electronic Notice	Electronic Notice
Tamara B. Packard	William K. Hancock
Electronic Notice	Electronic Notice
Misha Tseytlin	Samuel T. Ward-Packard
Electronic Notice	Electronic Notice
Kevin M. LeRoy	Jacob D. Shelly
Electronic Notice	Electronic Notice

Page 3 March 1, 2024 No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Julie Zuckerbrod Electronic Notice

Abha Khanna Electronic Notice

Daniel S. Lenz Electronic Notice

Aaron Dumas Electronic Notice

Karla Z. Keckhaver Thomas C. Bellavia Wisconsin Department of Justice P.O. Box 7857 Madison, WI 53707-7857

Michelle M. (Umberger) Kemp Perkins Coie LLP 33 E. Main St., Ste. 201 Madison, WI 53703-5411

Daniel R. Suhr National Center for Justice and Liberty 747 N. LaSalle St., Ste. 270 Chicago, IL 60654

Jeffrey A. Mandell Richard Manthe Douglas M. Poland Carly Gerads Rachel E. Snyder Stafford Rosenbaum LLP P.O. Box 1784 222 West Washington Ave., Ste. 900 Madison, WI 53701-1784

Annabelle E. Harless Campaign Legal Center 55 W. Monroe St., Ste. 1925 Chicago, IL 60603 Mark P. Gaber Simone T. Leeper Campaign Legal Center 1101 14th St. NW, Ste. 400 Washington, D.C. 20005

Adam K. Mortara Lawfair LLC 125 S. Wacker Drive, Ste. 300 Chicago, IL 60606

Tanner G. Jean-Louis Boardman & Clark, LLP P.O. Box 927 Madison, WI 53701-0927

David J. Bradford Jenner & Block, LLP 353 North Clark St. Chicago, IL 60654

Jeffrey M. Harris Taylor A.R. Meehan James P. McGlone Consovoy McCarthy, PLLC 1600 Wilson Blvd., Ste. 700 Arlington, VA 22209

Jakob E. Feltham Hawks Quindel, S.C. P.O. Box 2155 Madison, WI 53703-2155

Elizabeth Edmondson Jenner & Block LLP 1155 6th Ave. New York, NY 10036-2711 Page 4 March 1, 2024 No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Ruth M. Greenwood Mary F. Brown Mark R. Haidar Meredith A. Manda Sarah A. Sadlier Corey M. Stewart The Election Law Clinic Harvard Law School 6 Everett Street Cambridge, MA 02138

Alex Trepp Jenner & Block 1099 New York Ave. NW Washington, DC 20001-4412

JED FROM DEMOCRACY DOCKET, COM Alison Boldt Robert Yablon University of Wisconsin Law School 975 Bascom Mall Madison, WI 53706

Joseph S. Goode Mark M. Leitner John William Halpin Laffey Leitner & Goode 325 E. Chicago Street, Ste. 200 Milwaukee, WI 53202